Web Banner Tairawhiti

Trustees appointed for ECT

1 Jul 2019

Trustees appointed for ECT

ECT GDC2. png

Council reappointed retiring board member John Clarke, and newly appointed Lyall Evans to the Eastland Community Trust Board at the meeting of Council yesterday.

Council has the role of selecting and appointing trustees to ECT as set out by the Trust deed.

The positions were advertised in May 2019 seeking applicants who not only had business acumen, but could represent the community.

Councillor’s agreed Mr Clarke has made valuable contribution to the Trust over his three year term and would continue to be an asset with his extensive experience in governance, finance and business.

Mr Evans retired as a chartered accountant and former Director of BDO Gisborne Ltd in March 2019.

He’s actively involved in the community as a life member of Surf Lifesaving Gisborne and trustee of Sport Gisborne Tairawhiti, and was selected to fill the position of trustee Michael Muir who was retiring by rotation.

“We want to acknowledge the dedicated service to our community by Mr Muir,” says Deputy Mayor, Rehette Stoltz.

“Mr Muir was a trustee for nine years and chair of the Trust for three years.

“He’s made a significant contribution to the Trust. During this time he’s been committed to providing value for the community and to work towards achieving a vision for economic development. We wish him all the best.”

Ms Stoltz says Council looks forward to working together with the Trust to further the aspirations of our community.