Election results

The final results in the Gisborne District Council local body elections held Saturday 8 October 2022.

Progress results received Saturday 8 October
Preliminary results received Sunday 1.30pm.
Final results received Friday 14 October 8.30pm

For daily voting document returns

On this page

Final results - Friday 14 October

Iterations = the iteration number at which a candidate is elected or excluded.


Total Voting Documents14731
First Iteration Quota7252
Last Iteration Quota7252
CandidateVotes receivedStatus
STOLTZ, Rehette8009Elected
ALDER, Colin2943excluded
TIBBLE, Rhonda2583excluded
BROWN, Darin969excluded

Tairāwhiti General Ward

Vacancies 8
Total Voting Documents11081
Blanks 125
First Iteration Quota1190.22
Last Iteration Quota1064.18
Candidate Votes receivedRankStatusIterationsAffiliation
WHAREHINGA, Josh 1921 1 elected 1 
ALDER, Colin 1639 2 elected 1 
FOSTER, Larry Keith 1184 3 elected 20 
TELFER, Rob 11694 elected 22 
CRANSTON, Andy 12015 elected 23 
GREGORY, Debbie 1162 6 elected 25Independent
ROBINSON, Tony 1170 7 elected 36 
THOMPSON, Teddy 10698elected48 
AKUHATA-BROWN, Meredith 1022  excluded 48Independent
BROWN, Jen 669  excluded 35 
REYNOLDS, Charlie 555 excluded28 
KARAITIANA, Tina 411  excluded 22 
FLORANCE, Ben 383  excluded 21 
MCKELLOW, Alistar Malcolm 332  excluded 19 
WALKER, Jordan 322  excluded 17 
BROWN, Moera 245  excluded 15Independent
MURPHY, Frank 211  excluded 14 
LODEWYK, Rachel 199  excluded 13 
MOEKE-MURRAY, Hine 170  excluded 11 
PACKER, Leighton 141  excluded 10 
TILLEY, Julian 134  excluded 9 
JONES, Peter 108  excluded 7 
MILL, Gareth 99  excluded 6 
PENNEFATHER, Dennis Patrick 73  excluded 4Independent
PAGE, Mike 46  excluded3

Tairāwhiti Māori Ward

Vacancies 5
Total Voting Documents 3650
First Iteration Quota590.33
Last Iteration Quota541.74
Candidate Votes receivedRankStatusIterationAffiliation
TIBBLE, Rhonda 844 1 elected 1 
RIA, Aubrey 6022 elected11
TUPARA, Nick6183 elected 13 
PAHURU-HURIWAI, Ani 578 4 elected 17Independent
PARATA, Rawinia 568 5 elected 18Ngati Porou
BROWN, Darin 389  excluded 18 
PROCTER, Ian George 316 excluded 16 
TOROA, Jody 245  excluded12
HAENGA, Chris 226 excluded 10Independent
WALKER, Agnes Lyn 199  excluded 8 
WARMENHOVEN, Marijke 131  excluded 6 
PEARLESS, Harawira Craig 123  excluded5 
EMMERSON, Athena 118  excluded3

Declaration of results of election

For the Gisborne District Council 2022 elections

I hereby declare the results of the elections held on 8 October 2022 for the following offices:

Mayor (one vacancy)

STOLTZ, Rehette                                               Elected

ALDER, Colin                                                     Excluded

TIBBLE, Rhonda                                                Excluded

BROWN, Darin                                                   Excluded

Informal votes received: 35

Blank votes received: 198

I therefore declare Rehette STOLTZ to be elected. The final quota as determined at the last iteration was 7252.


Tairāwhiti General Ward (eight vacancies)

WHAREHINGA, Josh                                                 Elected

ALDER, Colin                                                             Elected

FOSTER, Larry Keith                                                 Elected

TELFER, Rob                                                             Elected

CRANSTON, Andy                                                     Elected

GREGORY, Debbie (Independent)                            Elected

ROBINSON, Tony                                                      Elected

THOMPSON, Teddy                                                  Elected

AKUHATA-BROWN, Meredith (Independent)            Excluded

BROWN, Jen                                                             Excluded

REYNOLDS, Charlie                                                 Excluded

KARAITIANA, Tina                                                     Excluded

FLORANCE, Ben                                                       Excluded

MCKELLOW, Alistar Malcolm                                    Excluded

WALKER, Jordan                                                       Excluded

BROWN, Moera (Independent)                                  Excluded

MURPHY, Frank                                                         Excluded

LODEWYK, Rachel                                                    Excluded

MOEKE-MURRAY, Hine                                             Excluded

PACKER, Leighton                                                     Excluded

TILLEY, Julian                                                            Excluded

JONES, Peter                                                            Excluded

MILL, Gareth                                                             Excluded

PENNEFATHER, Dennis Patrick (Independent)       Excluded

PAGE, Mike                                                               Excluded

Informal votes received: 503

Blank votes received: 125

I therefore declare Colin ALDER, Andy CRANSTON, Larry Keith FOSTER, Debbie GREGORY, Tony ROBINSON, Rob TELFER, Teddy THOMPSON and Josh WHAREHINGA, to be elected. The final quota as determined at the last iteration was 1064.186883493.

Tairāwhiti Māori Ward (five vacancies)

TIBBLE, Rhonda                                                     Elected

RIA, Aubrey                                                             Elected

TUPARA, Nick                                                         Elected

PAHURU-HURIWAI, Ani (Independent)                   Elected

PARATA , Rawinia (Ngati Porou)                             Elected

BROWN , Darin                                                       Excluded

PROCTER, Ian George                                          Excluded

TOROA, Jody                                                         Excluded

HAENGA, Chris (Independent)                              Excluded

WALKER, Agnes Lyn                                             Excluded

WARMENHOVEN, Marijke                                     Excluded

PEARLESS, Harawira Craig                                  Excluded

EMMERSON, Athena                                            Excluded

Informal votes received: 76

Blank votes received: 60

I therefore declare Rhonda TIBBLE, Nick TUPARA, Aubrey RIA, Ani PAHURU-HURIWAI, and Rawinia PARATA, to be elected. The final quota as determined at the last iteration was 541.748940775.

Full details of the official results of the election are available on request from the Electoral Officer.

Dated at Gisborne, 14 October 2022

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer

Declaration of results of election