Te Kaunihera


Your council includes a mayor, 13 elected councillors, an appointed chief executive, 6 directors and 300 staff.

Gisborne District Council is a unitary authority, New Zealand’s first unitary authority, created as part of a major nationwide reform of local government in 1989. We are both the district and regional council for the Gisborne district - Tairawhiti.