Pāhikanga kounga āngi

Air quality exceedence

Gisborne District Council is required to monitor air quality under the Resource Management (National Environmental Standards for Air Quality) Regulations 2004, and we must notify any breaches of those standards.

Our monitoring equipment that measures particulate matter (PM10) levels has been located at Gisborne Boys' High School since 2004.

Current levels can be seen on LAWA's Website

The National Environmental Standard for PM10 concentration for a 24 hour average is 50 µg/m3.  We will notify breaches here:

Air quality exceedance in Gisborne

Monitoring equipment located at Gisborne Boys' High School.

DateConcentration µg/m3

Saturday, 23 May 2020

52.5

Saturday, 30 May 2020

50.4

Sunday, 31 May 2020

54.4

Thursday, 11 June 2020

65.0

Sunday, 5 July 2020

54.3

Sunday, 12 July 2020

55.7

Sunday, 26 July 2020

59.7

Tuesday, 28 July 2020

54.6

Wednesday, 29 July 2020

53.4

Friday, 31 July 2020

85.3

Tuesday, 4 August 2020

73.3

Wednesday, 5 August 2020

64.1

Thursday, 6 August 2020

55.6

Friday, 7 August 2020

62.7

Saturday, 8 August 2020

52.1

Friday, 14 August 2020

53.9

A combination of cold weather, low wind conditions, domestic woodburners and emissions from transport sources contribute to any breaches.

Disclaimer: The information on this page could be subject to change due to quality assurance processing.