Air Quality banner image

Pāhikanga kounga āngi

Air quality exceedence

Gisborne District Council measures and monitors air quality under the Resource Management (National Environmental Standards for Air Quality) Regulations, and we're required to notify any breaches of those standards.

Our monitoring equipment that measures particulate matter (PM10) levels is located at Gisborne Boys' High School.

The National Environmental Standard for PM10 concentration for a 24 hour average is 50 µg/m3.

Recent air quality exceedance in Gisborne

Date Concentration µg/m3Date Concentration µg/m3
10 August 55.1  
5 August68.53 August53.1
2 August 54.7 1 August 65.8
31 July 65.9 30 July 65.6
29 July 73 20 July 76.4
5 July 75.8 20 June 55.9
19 June 57.8 18 June 54.2
12 June 52 11 June 56.4
4 June 65.5 3 June 60.23
2 June 54 29 May 54.8

Previous year

Date Concentration µg/m3

Saturday, 23 May 2020

52.5

Saturday, 30 May 2020

50.4

Sunday, 31 May 2020

54.4

Thursday, 11 June 2020

65.0

Sunday, 5 July 2020

54.3

Sunday, 12 July 2020

55.7

Sunday, 26 July 2020

59.7

Tuesday, 28 July 2020

54.6

Wednesday, 29 July 2020

53.4

Friday, 31 July 2020

85.3

Tuesday, 4 August 2020

73.3

Wednesday, 5 August 2020

64.1

Thursday, 6 August 2020

55.6

Friday, 7 August 2020

62.7

Saturday, 8 August 2020

52.1

Friday, 14 August 2020

53.9

A combination of cold weather, low wind conditions, domestic woodburners and emissions from transport sources contribute to any breaches.

Disclaimer: The information on this page could be subject to change due to quality assurance processing.

A combination of cold weather, low wind conditions, domestic woodburners and emissions from transport sources contribute to any breaches.

Disclaimer: The information on this page could be subject to change due to quality assurance processing.